Just to be clear, while the overwhelming majority of material on my site is currently with in the realm of animation, I do not intend to handle animated material exclusively. Part of the reason I began this personal project was to share with the world some of the really bizarre shows that I watch, many of which you probably haven’t even heard of before. I love to talk to people about television, but usually no one shares the common experience of something like Cardfight! Vanguard, and thus I’m stuck talking about good shows, like Community or House. Clearly my life is full of hardships.

 

There is another reason, however, that I chose two animated shows to start with, and a reason that I would expect to continue seeing animated series reviewed here. A personal reason actually. I love animation! I always have. In first grade most people dream of being pro athletes, astronauts, ballet dancers or the next leader of their country. Me? I wanted to be a cartoonist.

 

It’s funny, because what I really wanted to be at the time was an animator, since cartoonists generally deal in comic strips like on the newspaper’s funny pages (if anyone still calls them that). But as it turns out, my six year old brain in its innocence and inability to comprehend such distinctions was actually closer to the truth than it realized.

 

You see my public school education had done a pretty good job of quashing my hopes of becoming an animator via its art classes

The crudity is exaggerated slightly for comedic value, but I promise I'm not great.

Case in point regarding my artistic skills, an actual title card that I created for my YouTube Channel.

combined with my utter lack of artistic talent, but it never was the visuals of the animated series that mattered to me. It was the stories.

 

I don’t remember when it started specifically (probably around first grade, maybe even sooner), but I had already started taking my love of television to the next level. A lot of theorists nowadays talk about the important role of fan fiction both in relation to the original texts that writers borrow from, and as a creative outlet in its own right. My creativity, however, took a different course.

 

I will never forget the family’s memo cube. It was a clear plastic case full of a rainbow assortment of post-it note sized pieces of paper. There was a spot to hold a pen, probably some promotional pen from wherever the cube came from, that has long since been lost. This peculiar office supply is where my road as a storyteller began.

Though looking back, those transformation sequences were too hot for young minds.

Yeah I said Sailor Moon. That's not even the girlyest show I've watched.

 

I would take a stack of memos of one color and a pencil and draw blocky little figures in something between a storyboard and a comic strip, and then I would sit down whichever of my parents I could coerce at the time and explain who the characters were and what they were doing (it wasn’t exactly self-explanatory, since I was still very young). Every week I’d be coming up with not only new stories, but new characters as well. Most of these stories were extremely similar to Power Rangers, Ninja Turtles or Sailor Moon, and most of the characters looked practically identical in my primitive artistic style, but what really mattered is that I never grew tired of doing what I was doing.

 

The reason this is significant is because by the time I hit high school I had no idea what I was doing with my life. I was the sort of kid who poured all his time and effort into being successful at school with the vain hope that one day it would pay off out of sheer devotion and work ethic. So when it came time to choose a path to take me into the real world my brain sort of exploded.

Despite what became of it, Scrubs was once a great show. Therefore you will get the occasional reference from me

Clearly I could never make it as a doctor, since my head exploded.

 

I’m generally talented at a lot of things, I got almost exclusively straight A’s in school, except for gym of course. Yeah, I’m that guy. But the problem was I hadn’t developed any better idea of who or what I wanted to be since the first grade, except that I knew I wasn’t a good enough artist to animate a cartoon show. I didn’t really have any extracurricular activities and the only club I was a part of was, surprise surprise, the anime club. I wasn’t good enough, nor interested enough, to join a sports team. A friend and I were literally ejected from stage crew because they didn’t want our help. I really had nothing going on.

 

Not until my very impulsive friend Max called me up one Saturday and said something to the effect of “I have a camera now, let’s make a movie!” We shot a little spoof news piece in his backyard entitled Drug Shack about what goes on at raves. It’s pretty awful looking back on it, but it made a lot of sense at the time, plus we literally shot the whole thing in an hour with no script. We had a couple other short videos that we worked on, but we rarely finished them. Still, I had a lot of fun working with my friends on that nonsense, and being a party-hating straight edged curmudgeon, that was significant.

 

There was still that problem of an utter lack of motivation, however. How could I possibly do something for a living that I couldn’t even actually do? Well it turned out the issue was that we were all simply trying to do too much. Most of the work was divided amongst three people and we ended up trying to take on roles of production that didn’t interest us and that’s where things fell through. It was thanks to a peculiar force in my life named Liz that I read a book about screenwriting and my world forever changed.

 

Now earlier I said that what I had wanted to be was closer to a cartoonist than an animator, but the story I’ve just told explains how I can to be interested in writing for television, so just what was I getting at? Well I’ve since investigated the possibility of working on a webcomic (the twenty-first century equivalent of a cartoonist) and they do really combine the best elements of what I’m looking to do: they give you control over the story while allowing your imagination to be the limit of your subject material. Well, your artistic ability is really the limit, which is the chief reason I haven’t embarked on such a journey just yet. The possibility does still exist, though, that I will start a webcomic. I will certainly make a note of it here if I do.

 

Just because I've watched a considerable amount of female-oriented television doesn't mean I'm gay.

In fairness, Zooey Deschanel is very attractive and I would probably watch a show just cause she's on it.

Despite my natural inclination towards science-fiction and fantasy subject matter, which in turn has contributed heavily to my interest in animation as a medium, the common denominator in all of these things is storytelling. I love good characters, which is probably why I like television over film, because it’s much easier to create well-defined characters in a serial medium like television. It also explains why I like shows like the New Girl, which has good characters and consistently very weak plots.

 

They say that the more things change, the more they stay the same, and while I’ve spent my life figuring out a lot of the details about where my passion fits into the scheme of things, the goal has always really been the same: to share my weird stories full of weird characters with the world, much the same way as I created this blog to share my weird experiences watching weird shows with the world.

 

Well one way or another I’m going to share my stories with the world, and I hope you’re still here with me when I do.

