Sure I could look up the history myself, but it's way more fun to try and convince you to do it for me.

Seriously, can anyone explain this tradition to me? It seems like nonsense.

Alright, it’s 2012 and it’s time to get this giant New Years Ball rolling. I had an awesome and much-needed holiday break spending time with my family, but it’s time to get back to work bringing you rundowns of some of the most ridiculous shows I’ve found, as well as my reflections on Television at large. I wanted to take a quick moment to thank everyone who’s been checking out the site during my hiatus, and to everyone who’s been reading for their patience during my break. You guys are awesome and I’m glad that I can bring you something you want to read.

 

The last few years have been really crazy for me; I graduated college, moved to LA to try and become a TV writer, got a job working on Deadliest Warrior’s third season, met one of my favorite webcomic artists, started working on his comedy videos, began working on not one, but TWO Let’s Play channels and finally started a blog to talk about Television, especially bad stuff as an outlet to rant about shows no one has ever heard of. The whole experience has been a serious whirlwind, and I’m not sure where the ride stops, but I’m certainly along for now.

 

While 2011 wasn’t as successful a year for me as 2010 had been, it was a much more satisfying one. One of my biggest problems (especially as a writer) is self-motivation. Back in college when I had deadlines for screenplays I’d hammer them off like it was nothing. Never missed a deadline. Okay, well I missed ONE deadline, but that’s not a story for today. The point is when I had a reason to definitively complete a script it was a cake-walk and, as a big fan of cakes, I can tell you that nothing’s easier than walking in the hopes of a cake prize.

 

Now that I’m on the other side of graduation, though, and despite my friends’ multiple attempts to host writers groups so we can give ourselves deadlines and feedback and all those other things writers do when they lock themselves in a room, I can’t seem to harness that same ease of writing. I imagine there’s some factor I haven’t yet figured out that can snap the last piece of the puzzle into place. For now, though, I’m definitely one piece short of a basket full of kittens.

It's surprisingly difficult to find a cute picture of a basket full of kittens.

I'm not sure why a basket full of kittens was my first thought for a puzzle picture, but hopefully you enjoy them.

 

For those of you who don’t know a lot about TV Writing, this is an issue because in the hypothetical scenario in which J.J. Abrams shows up and wants to produce a show based on my work, he’s still going to need to see a finished, polished draft of some type of screenplay before I get my lucrative WGA position. As it stands I have a bunch of good ideas and a few pretty good, but half-finished scripts to show for my effort.

 

Anyway, what I’ve been slowly and circuitously getting at is that in 2010 is when I got the Deadliest Warrior job, and I finished a full draft of an original pilot idea that I have, plus I started working with the guys of SMBC, so things were looking really optimistic for my Hollywood career. Then the season wrapped up, and SMBC production wound down in preparation for a big project (which I believe will be unveiled later this month, very excited) and I was unable to pick up another stable job right away. It was depressing for a while, but if it hadn’t happened I wouldn’t be where I am today.

 

So where exactly am I today? Well, I’m still trying to break into Hollywood, but instead of crossing my fingers and hoping, I’m getting myself out there, putting my material online to share it with the world. Admittedly it’s a humble start, it may not seem like very much of a step forward at all, but to me it’s already made a world of difference. I have always wanted to share my take with the world and I’ve finally got the guts to do it. Things started off a little rough, but I aim to keep improving until everyone can enjoy my work.

 

I’ve never felt more support from my friends and family than I have over these last few months, and so my motto for 2012 is going to be “go big or go home”. I intend to go big. Let’s take a look at some of my resolutions for the year, so you have a better picture of what I’m talking about.

 

It's not exactly dying for our sins, but dying for an epic fireworks display is stil reasonably cool.

Rest in Peace, Awesome Man.

Resolution #1: Be More Awesome – It never hurts to be more awesome, unless you’re Awesome Man, who tragically reached critical awesome in 2007 and died in an awesome, yet bittersweet fireworks show. What this resolution really represents is my continued effort to refine my work (especially here on Cove of Solitude) so that it’s accessible, entertaining and relevant. My abbreviated Code Lyoko summaries seem to be somewhat successful, and I’ve gotten positive feedback on my 10-panel Cardfight Vanguard webcomic-synopsis-jumble. Expect to see more of that in the future as I continue experimenting with my style. Feedback is always welcome, so hit me up in the comments or on Twitter @VascoDaGamer. Oh yeah, that reminds me…

 

Resolution #2: Be Better With Social Media – I’m sure I’ve mentioned at some point that I’m a pretty reclusive person by nature. I’m not actually as socially awkward as I would have you believe, though I may be even less outgoing than I let on. I find it very difficult to try and reach out to keep in touch with people. This year I’m hoping to do more of that in general, but for the purposes of my readership, that means doing a better job of responding to comments and providing interesting things to read or respond to on my Twitter. Good luck to me on this one.

 

Resolution #3: Keep Advancing My Work – This one’s a bit tricky since it actually encompasses a lot of things. For example, on the You Tube channel where I produce Let’s Plays with a friend of mine, we’re going to be making an announcement very soon that will take us in a new and hopefully exciting direction.

 

As I’ve already stated, I hope to keep refining my Cove of Solitude writing style so that more people will want to regularly check in and read what’s new. This will probably mean adjusting my idea of how to present the bad show experience, and probably truncating my summaries from a full season to something that’s less of a time commitment. That’s a decision I have yet to make, however, since there’s at least one short series that begs a full summary, whether I like it or not.

I mean, for one, their houses look WAY cooler than ours.

Sure Y2K was a bust, but I’m willing to bet that the Mayans knew something we don’t.

 

The last and most exciting thing in this category involves a secret project I’ve been working on since early December. A friend of mine who reads this blog gave me a brilliant idea that I hope to execute in some modest way before the end of this year, or perhaps more accurately, before the world ends this December. It’s the type of thing I’ve wanted to do for a very long time, but there are a lot of considerations to iron out, so it will be a while before it sees the light of day, and that’s optimistically speaking. Still, I hope to show it off in some way during the course of this year.

 

I think that just about does it for my public resolutions. I’ve got a few, more personal ones that I will also be working on, but you don’t need to see a grown man cry. I mean uh, shut up, I’m awesome!

 

Did you buy that? Yeah you totally bought that. Good.

 

Anyway, thanks for reading and I hope you had a happy holiday season as well as an excellent New Year. I know I did. Predictably I got absolutely no work for the site done over the last two weeks, so I’ll do my best to get regular updates going on schedule again. In the meantime, enjoy this SMBC video where I recently made an appearance as a Leprechaun Hunter:

 

